Tag Archive: electoral boundaries

Flat Bush!

The proposed changes to the boundaries of NZ’s electorates for the 2020 election have been released.

The big headline grabber is the creation of a new electorate in Auckland, which will be called Flat Bush.

And, Auckland, how you never fail to disappoint. I’m sorry, this isn’t the reaction that I should have, but I cannot get over the fact that a) Auckland has a suburb called Flat Bush, and b) that it’s going to be the name of an electorate that an MP will be elected from.

In all seriousness, Flat Bush will most likely be a National seat, if not a safe one. It takes parts from both the National voting Hunua and Papakura electorates, as well as the Labour voting Manurewa electorate.

Interestingly, Flat Bush will border the electorate of Botany, where there was a heated race from National to become the candidate for the seat. As such, I don’t think it’s unreasonable to guess that some of the potential candidates who ran in Botany will do the same in Flat Bush.

Uneducated guess: Agnes Loheni, current National list MP, and someone who tried to get the National nomination for Botany will become Flat Bush’s first MP.

It’s a move that makes sense – Loheni only became an MP following Chris Finlayson’s resignation and ran in the nearby electorate of Māngere in 2017, (not to mention her attempt at Botany), so she has local ties.

Elsewhere, the Port Hills electorate will be renamed to Banks Penisula after gaining that from Selwyn, making it a marginal seat. There’s also been some changes in and around Christchurch and Dunedin.

Four electorates have had name changes – Rodney to Whangaparāoa, Port Hills to Banks Penisula, Hunua to Port Waikato, and Rimutaka to Remutaka.

A full list of the changes is available in the scoop article I linked at the top.